Shortly before the start of the new year 2017 a new version of the Customs Code of the Eurasian Economic Union was signed. The EAEU Customs Code was signed by the presidents of the four member countries of the Union, including the head of Kyrgyzstan. The document aims to lay the necessary foundations for the transition to a single customs regulation and came to replace the document signed in 2009.

The Union member countries have agreed that one year after the entry into force of the new Customs Code, in 2018, there will begin a gradual decline of the threshold for duty-free import of goods from foreign online stores into the EAEU member countries. The Code itself will come into force on 1 July 2017.

The signing of the document was commented to Logirus portal by Deputy Director General of the TRANSLOGIX Group on customs clearance Seyfudin Shikhaliyev: “The adoption of the new Customs Code of the EAEU was a decision in the customs and near-customs sphere expected in the outgoing year 2016. Modern realities are changing, the structure of the integration of the EAEU is changing. A convergence of the EAEU member countries is progressing step by step, technologies in the field of customs are being improved and simplified. The changes are, among other things, aimed at the reduction of times for passing through customs operations”.

More detailed information is available here