Salt has fallen under the product embargo

The Russian government has put salt on the list of products which are prohibited to be imported into the country within the scope of the food embargo. The decision comes into effect on November 1, 2016 and has already been published on the official legal information website.

The list of products prohibited to be imported has included salt (including table salt and denatured salt), pure sodium chloride, as well as sea water.

Thus, the import of the above-mentioned products from the EU countries, Ireland, and the United States will not be possible.

It will be recalled that the food embargo in our country was introduced in August 2014. In particular, meat and meat products, fish, seafood, vegetables, fruits, and dairy products also fell under the ban.